Sampire In The City

Welcome to Sampire Bites and my very first blog post. My name’s Sam and I just bought a condo in August 2013 in Toronto’s fashion district, along with my black pug Opie.

I didn’t go out much last year as I was adjusting to being a first time condo and dog owner. I was a

little bit overwhelmed! They always say, the first year is the hardest.

Now, I’m totally adjusted and am lucky enough to be able to explore the city and all it has to offer!

Every Sunday, I go to Brioche Dorée (on King Street West, east of Bathurst) on my way to work.

I get a dark roast coffee and sometimes a breakfast snack. They make the best ham and cheese multigrain croissants.

Most Fridays and Saturdays I would treat myself to a lovely cappuccino at Jimmy’s Coffee (Portland Street just north of King) until Atlas Espresso Bar opened up on Front east of Bathurst. I find their cappuccino to be on par or better than Jimmy’s. We’ve become regulars now and they give Opie so much love, attention and dog treats! The owner, Sandrine, is very friendly and their staff feels like a tight family unit.

Recently, I’ve discovered High Park. There’s a cute coffee shop right outside the doors of the High Park station called Cafe Novo. They have the best americanos I’ve ever had and their cookies are super delicious and nut free! Having a newly-diagnosed nut allergy is dangerous because I always forget to ask about the ingredients. From there, we start discovering the trails…there’s always something new to see every time we go!

A month ago I was contacted by The National Post’s Gastropost to be a contributor.

I always post photos of my food on Instagram (instagram.com/sampireb) so I thought why not, let’s join the fun and go on missions! (Just wish the honour of being a Gastroposter came with some cash.) So that’s what’s now inspired and encouraged me to start my own food blog.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love that you’re doing this. Hope to be your accomplice on some of your food adventures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

